Thursday, February 29, 2024

‘I want him to be carried on the shoulders’: Virender Sehwag wants Virat Kohli to be celebrated like Sachin Tendulkar after ODI World Cup

Must Read

Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar undoubtedly stand as two of the cricketing world’s most legendary batsmen. Their careers are a tapestry woven with record-breaking performances and extraordinary achievements.

Despite the disparate eras they graced, Kohli and Tendulkar etched their names in history. Tendulkar’s remarkable records include the most runs in both Test and ODI cricket, along with the most centuries in both formats. Kohli, on the other hand, holds the distinction of being the fastest to amass 10,000 runs in both Test and ODI cricket, as well as the record for the most centuries in T20I cricket.

During India’s memorable 2011 World Cup campaign, this dynamic duo shared the field. In a heartwarming moment, a young Kohli hoisted Tendulkar on his shoulders following their victory over Sri Lanka in the final.

Former India opener Virender Sehwag, a vital part of the 2011 World Cup squad, expressed his wish for a similar celebration if India emerges victorious in the 2023 World Cup.

“Cheeku (Kohli) didn’t manage to notch a single century in the 2019 World Cup. This year, I hope he amasses several centuries and emerges as the tournament’s leading run-scorer. Then, I envision him being carried on the shoulders of his teammates, taking a triumphant lap around the ground,” he remarked, as reported by Cricbuzz.

Sehwag also emphasized the deserving nature of India’s captain, Rohit Sharma, to secure a World Cup trophy for his significant contributions to Indian cricket.

“These two senior players, Rohit and Kohli, are truly deserving of World Cup triumphs. Rohit Sharma came agonizingly close to making the 2011 World Cup squad but narrowly missed out. Subsequently, he evolved into an ODI maestro and now stands as a fantastic player who merits the honor of winning a World Cup trophy.”

The Indian World Cup Squad comprises Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (Wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Mohammed Shami.

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img
Latest News

David Warner leaves the Test match on his terms.

NEW DELHI: This week brings an end to an incredible. Warner is renowned for his ability to make big...
- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -spot_img